What Is The Primary Series of Ashtanga


Yoga is a holistic practice, a complete path by itself, which brings us to the reality of life and self. Yoga is the change that you always seek, a change that transforms you, a change that makes you a better person and to bring that change fully into your life start exploring its root.

When it comes to exploring the yogic roots, a yogi heads to Hatha and Ashtanga practice. A classical form of yoga, both the styles helps us to know the ancient science to its core. Both these forms have branched out to other styles of yoga that are practiced today tremendously.

Where Hatha is a slow paced relaxed form of exercise, Ashtanga is rigorous and a physically demanding practice. With the primary series of Ashtanga gain extensive knowledge of the traditional form.

What is Ashtanga Yoga?

The classical yoga form, Ashtanga is a dynamic yoga style that connects the breath with the movement of the body to create free pranic flow in the body. The flow builds inner heat and intends to purify the body. Ashtanga is known as the eight-limbed practice of yoga that follows eight spiritual paths that help the practitioner to reach the ultimate yogic aim of liberation.

The Eight Limbed Spiritual Practice of Ashtanga:

  1. Yama (Moral Codes or Ethics)
  2. Niyama (Observance)
  3. Asana (Posture)
  4. Pranayama (Breath Control)
  5. Pratyahara (Withdrawal of Senses)
  6. Dharana (Concentration or Focus)
  7. Dhyana (Meditation)
  8. Samadhi (Enlightenment, Salvation or Liberation)

Yama and Niyama have branched out as:


  • Ahimsa (non-violence)
  • Satya (truthfulness)
  • Asteya (non-stealing)
  • Brahmacharya (controlling sexual energy)
  • Aparigraha (non-coveting)


  • Shaucha (self-purification)
  • Santosha (contentment)
  • Tapas (self-discipline)
  • Svadyaya (self-study)
  • Ishvara Pranidhana (devotion)

What is the Primary series of Ashtanga Yoga?

The Primary series of Ashtanga is a sequel of postures and is used as a daily practice. Primary series is the foundation practice that builds a base for the sequences. Along with the postures, the primary series also includes specific breathing techniques, use of Bandhas, Drishti and coordination of the movement with the breath.

The primary series is known as Yoga Chikitsa that means yoga therapy, as the series provides cleaning and toning effect on the mind and body. Considered as the easiest of Ashtanga Yoga practice, but as per the practitioners, primary series is actually the most difficult to master.

The series is a progression of postures that promotes strength and flexibility by loosening up the muscles. The primary series of Ashtanga also restores balance and realigns the nervous system for greater physical benefits.

On the mental level, the practice of the primary series helps you to improve the focus, self-confidence, and helps in overcoming obstacles by igniting awareness.

Bestowing the therapeutic effects on the body and mind by clearing the energy Chakras, the primary series of Ashtanga allows the free fall of prana by clearing obstacles and enhances body-mind functioning.

Asana of Primary Series of Ashtanga Yoga

The reinvigorating rigorous form of yoga, Ashtanga series flows from one pose to another without holding the posture for a long time. The series forms a strong foundation to grow and flourish and helps integrating new poses into an established system.

Ashtanga primary series asanas is packed with a lot of benefits, and the key to get through the series is by memorizing the postures and sequel flow and practice them daily and correctly. Practice the posture sequel following the breath rhythm.

  • The series begins with the practice of Surya Namaskar series A and B
  • Followed by standing sequences and then the practice of Vinyasa poses
  • The practice then leads towards Yoga Chikitsa sequences and ends with finishing poses.

Basic poses practiced during the primary series of Ashtanga Yoga

  • Padangusthasana (Big Toe Pose)
  • Utkatasana (Chair Pose)
  • Paschimottanasana (Seated Forward Bend Pose)
  • Janu Sirsasana (Head-to-Knee Pose)
  • Marichyasana (Sage Marichi Pose)
  • Matsyasana (Fish Pose)
  • Chakrasana (Wheel Pose)
  • Sarvangasana (Shoulder Stand)
  • Tolasana (Scale Pose)
  • Savasana (Corpse Pose)

Reversed Perspective of Primary series of Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga yoga primary series is a fundamental setting pattern that opens the body for an invaluable chance to rebalance itself. Emphasize on the specific parts of the training so as to utilize the yoga restoratively and bring in a desired balance.

There are explicit sequences that make up the primary series, as mentioned, and as a practitioner choose how and which aspects to emphasize on. You should be very cautious while doing the poses that need to be performed on both the sides one-by-one like Janu Sirasana.

The traditional classical yoga form, Ashtanga Yoga evolves you into a refined yogi with its regular practice. So, master the pose and train yourself for a heightened learning with Ashtanga Yoga Teacher Training at a renowned yogic land.